Chapter XII: Transitory and Provisional Provisions


Until the promulgation of the Law on “Local Administration,” the Kingdom of Libya shall be divided into ten main administrative units, which shall be named by a Resolution of the Council of Ministers, and each unit shall be headed by an official appointed by Royal Decree.


The existing Senate shall retain its present form until the expiry of the membership of each Senator.


Article 203 is repealed by Law No. 1 of 1963.


All laws, legislation, orders and notices which are in operation in any part of Libya upon the coming into force of this Constitution shall continue to be effective in so far as they are not inconsistent with the provisions of the new constitutional amendment, until they expire, or they are repealed, amended or replaced by other legislation enacted in accordance with the rules prescribed in this Constitution.

ARTICLES 205 to 213

Articles 205 to 213 are repealed by Law No. 1 of 1963.

The Libyan National Assembly prepared and resolved this Constitution in its meeting held in the city of Benghazi on Sunday, 6th Muharram, Hegera 1371 corresponding to 7th October 1951, and delegated its president and the two Vice-Presidents to promulgate it and submit it to His Majesty, the Exalted King, and published in the Official Gazette in Libya. In pursuance of the Resolution of the National Assembly we have promulgated this Constitution in the city of Benghazi on Sunday, the 6th day of Muharram, Hegera 1371, corresponding to the 7th day of October 1951.

MOHAMED ABULAS’AD EL-ALEM, President of the National Assembly
OMAR FAIEK SHENNIB, Vice-President of the National Assembly
ABUBAKER AHMED ABUBAKER, Vice-President of the National Assembly